Academic Honor Program

The Academic Honor Program is designed to promote individual responsibility and integrity in academic affairs, and to develop an atmosphere conducive to serious independent scholarship. Allegheny’s Honor Code is different than those of many other colleges because it is a student code, developed and upheld by the students themselves, rather than imposed by the College administration. A voluntary honor system was established in 1960, and by 1962 over two-thirds of the student body participated in the program. The following year, the student body voted to make the honor program mandatory. This decision, also approved by the faculty and administration, first applied to the class that entered the College in 1964. Every three years since 1990, the Honor Committee conducts a student referendum to determine if the student body wishes to continue the honor system. The Honor Code has consistently been supported by an overwhelming majority of students. A complete description of the Honor Code can be found here and in the student handbook, The Compass. Any member of the College community may report an alleged violation of the Honor Code. Such reports shall be prepared in writing and directed to the Honor Committee. Reports should be submitted as soon as possible after the alleged violation occurs.

The Honor Committee

The Honor Committee is the first level of inquiry in all cases of alleged violations of the Allegheny College Honor Code. The Honor Committee is composed of twelve students: four seniors, four juniors, four sophomores. Selection of new members and a chairperson will be conducted in accordance with the Honor Committee Constitution. The Honor Committee will appoint three of its members to serve as a Review Panel for each alleged violation in accordance with the Honor Committee Constitution. The Honor Committee Review Panel will conduct an inquiry of the alleged violation(s), including meetings with the accused student. This inquiry will be conducted in accordance with the Honor Committee Constitution. The panel will report the results of its inquiry to the full Honor Committee. If the Honor Committee determines that there is a reasonable likelihood that a violation of the Honor Code occurred, it will refer the alleged violation to the Academic Integrity Board.

Report an Incident

Allegheny College Student Resources 

Kushtrim Miftari, Honor Committee Chair

 

 

Senior Members
Kushtrim Miftari, Chairperson miftarik@allegheny.edu
Erin Masterson mastersone@allegheny.edu
Eric Jorgensen jorgensene@allegheny.edu
Dejana Smajic smajicd@allegheny.edu

Junior Members
Rebecca Novak (Education Chair) novakr@allegheny.edu
Katherine Touscany (Abroad) touscanyk@allegheny.edu
Shawn Kennemuth (stand in for Katherine) kennemuths@allegheny.edu
David Klodowski klodowskid@allegheny.edu
Marlana Margaria margariam@allegheny.edu

Sophomore Members
Lora Waybright waybrightl@allegheny.edu
Jack Schnur schnurj2@allegheny.edu
Zachary Metkler metklerz@allegheny.edu
Angelina Winbush winbusha@allegheny.edu

new Honor-Committee

Advisors

Joseph DiChristina, Dean of Students
Administrative Advisor
Office of Student Life, Reis Hall
jdichris@allegheny.edu
814-332-4356

Joseph Hall, Director of Student Conduct & Development
Administrative Advisor
Office of Student Life, Reis Hall
jhall@allegheny.edu
814-332-4356

Professor Zachary Callen, Department of Political Science
Faculty Advisor
zcallen@allegheny.edu
814-332-2786