Faculty

  • Ratio of majors to full-time department faculty: 4:1
  • Average class size, introductory: 60
  • Average class size, advanced: 15

Faculty

Mark Ams

Associate Professor

mams@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-2351

Full profile

Matthew Betush

Assistant Professor

mbetush@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-2197

Full profile

Timothy Chapp

Assistant Professor

tchapp@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-5324

Full profile

Alice Deckert

Professor

adeckert@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-5329

Full profile

Ivelitza Garcia

Associate Professor

igarcia@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-5357

Full profile

Elizabeth Guldan

Assistant Professor

eguldan@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-2985

Full profile

Shaun Murphree

Professor

smurphre@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-5358

Full profile

Phillip Persichini, III

Associate Professor

ppersich@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-5359

Full profile


Staff

Robert Caskey

Lab Technician

rcaskey@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-2997

Full profile

Melinda Jackson

Doane Hall of Chemistry Coordinator

ljackson@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-5363

Full profile

Kirsten Peterson

Director of Pre-Professional Advising

kpeterso@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-2845

Full profile

John Walton

Science Technology Technician

jwalton@allegheny.edu
(814) 332-3973

Full profile

Selected Faculty Publications and Achievements

  • Dr. Persichini recently authored “Carbon-Carbon Bond Formation via Boron Mediated Transfer” in Current Organic Chemistry and has been named as a co-organizer of an international conference titled “Latest Trends in Organic Synthesis.”
  • Dr. Murphree co-authored a book entitled Practical Microwave Synthesis for Organic Chemists.
  • Dr. Persichini co-authored “Phospholipid Tubules II” in the Journal of the American Chemical Society, and he has given four invited talks in the last several years.
  • Dr. Deckert co-authored, with students Kelley A. Anderson, Kate M. Mullaugh and Christine Delaney, “A Comprehensive Study of the Formation and Reaction of a Tethered N-hydroxysulfosuccinimidyl Ester Utilized To Covalently Tether Proteins to Surfaces,” in J. Phys. Chem. B. 108 (2004) 15808-15814.
  • Dr. Serra was recently a Fogarty Senior International Fellow at CNRS in Strasbourg, France, and his group published “Effects of Magnesium Ions on the Stabilization of RNA Oligomers of Defined Structures” in RNA.
  • Dr. Sheffield co-authored, with student Margaret Doyle, “Uptake of Copper (II) by Wool,” Textile Research Journal 76 (2005) 203.
  • Dr. Statman was recently a Fulbright Scholar researching nonlinear optics in Budapest.