The Bomgar Remote Assistance appliance is a remote desktop assistance tool that allows authorized User Services support representatives to remotely connect to a users computer to provide support via a working Internet connection.
A remote connection to a users (client) computer should only be performed at the request of the user and while the user is present at the remote computer. Users must grant permission for the User Services representative to view or control the client computer. The User Support Specialist will direct the user to the Bomgar remote support web page to submit request for remote support.
When the remote session is completed the remote connection should be terminated. When the session is closed the remote applet will uninstall and the client must submit another request if remote support is requested again.
Once a remote session is initiated using one of the invitation methods the client will be prompted to allow the remote session connection. The client will be present with selection choices to allow shared control of the computer, allow only viewing, or refuse request. If the client selects to allow shared control the tech can view and control the clients desktop with the same privileges as the clients account. If the client selects to allow only viewing then the tech can see the clients desktop but has no control of the client’s computer. During a view only session the tech can initiate a request to allow the shared control of the client computer. The client will be prompted to allow or refuse this request. If the client is not an administrator the tech can initiate a request to elevate the control of the client computer with different account credentials,ie:, an admin account. This then allow the tech to execute commands that the elevated account will allow.
User/Client – Remote viewing and controlling of workstations guidelines
By allowing remote support access users need to be alert to their security and privacy as the support personnel can view what is on a screen in real-time and assist in troubleshooting technical issues or difficulty. When granted remote control access, support personnel also have access to any application or function to which a user has been given rights. If granted view only access the support tech can only view what is on the clients computer but has no mouse of keyboard control. The remote connection process installs an applet to allow the remote connection. The user is prompted to allow or refuse the applet to install. If allowed the remote session applet is installed and the remote support session can continue. Either the user or the support tech can terminate the remote support session. Once the session is terminated the user is prompted that the applet will be removed (answer yes). If the user selects ‘yes’ the applet is automatically removed and the support session ends. Once the support session is ended if remote access assistance is needed again the remote connection process will need to be initiated again.
Users should follow these guidelines when authorizing remote view or control of a workstation:
- Do not accept remote view or remote control requests that you did not initiate. (Example: If you have not reported that you are having a problem to your technical support staff, you
should not accept remote view or control requests if you are contacted by an individual to fix
- Do not allow unsolicited requests for remote view or control of your workstation. Do not accept remote view or remote control requests that you did not initiate. Always remain alert against possible “social engineering” attempts via phone or email.
- Only allow remote view or remote control access to your workstation when necessary for troubleshooting a problem and only grant permission to remote view or remote control to appropriate support personnel. If you are not sure whether support personnel should be granted remote view or remote control access to your workstation to resolve a problem, do not grant permission to remote view or remote control.>/li>
- Each session is initiated by the end user, thus if you receive a request to provide access to your computer that was not requested by you decline the request and contact Information Technology Services to report the incident.
- Close all applications that are not needed in order to resolve the issue for which you are
- Remain at the workstation during the time your workstation is remotely viewed or controlled. Do not leave your workstation unattended while it is remotely viewed or controlled.
- Watch carefully the actions taken by others who are remotely controlling your workstation.
If you are uncomfortable with actions taken during a remote view or remote control
session, immediately end the session.
- Ensure that any remote view or remote control session is disconnected and/or terminated
after the support personnel have completed assisting you.
- If you are uncomfortable with actions taken during a remote view or remote control session, immediately end the session.