Sharing a Recording of Google Meet

Definitions:

  • Meet Owner – user that schedules the Meet via https://meet.google.com/ or the person that owns the calendar invitation that the Meet is attached to.
  • Meet Participants – users that join a Meet that has been scheduled by the Meet Owner

Tips:

  • Recordings save to the meeting organizer’s My Drive > Meet Recordings folder.
  • Captioning is not saved in the Meet recording.

Scenarios:

Scenario #1

Meet created in Calendar Event, started and recorded by the Meet Owner during the Calendar Event time

  • Recording is saved to Meet Owner’s Google Drive
  • Meet Owner is the owner of the recorded Meet and can add and remove sharing
  • Meet is shared with all Meet Participants on the Calendar invitation that are in the same domain.

Scenario #2

Meet created in a Calendar Event, started and recorded by Meet Owner outside of the Calendar Event time

  • Recording is saved to Meet Owner’s Google Drive
  • Meet Owner is the owner of the recorded Meet and can add and remove sharing
  • Meet is not shared with the Meet Participants.

Scenario #3

Meet recording started by Meet Participant instead of Meet Owner

  • Recording is saved to the Meet Owner’s Google Drive
  • Meet Owner is the owner of the recorded Meet and can add and remove sharing
  • Meet is only shared with the Meet Participant that started the recording.

Scenario #4

Meet created at https://meet.google.com/, recording started by Meet Owner

  • Recording is saved to Meet Owner’s Google Drive
  • Meet Owner is the owner of the recorded Meet and can add and remove sharing
  • Meet is not shared with the Meet Participants.