Loading Events

Alexander String Quartet

  • This event has passed.

Start: March 10, 2017 7:30 pm
End: March 10, 2017 9:00 pm
Venue: Ford Chapel

San Francisco’s award-winning Alexander String Quartet will return to campus for its annual residency at Allegheny College, and will perform in Ford Chapel on Friday, March 10, at 7:30 p.m. The concert is free and open to the public. Early seating is recommended, as the chapel has filled to capacity in previous years.

The Alexander String Quartet includes violinists Zakarias Grafilo and Frederick Lifsitz, violist Paul Yarbrough and cellist Sandy Wilson. Formed in New York City in 1981, ASQ became the first string quartet to win the Concert Artists Guild Competition just a year later.

This year’s concert will showcase Benjamin Britten’s Quartet No. 1 in D Major, and Beethoven’s “Rasumovsky” Quartet in E Minor. It will also feature the Allegheny College Women’s Ensemble in Baldassare Galuppi’s “Dixit Dominus.” Written in the 18th century, the work represents a movement that greatly advanced the role of women as performers.

More information on the quartet can be found at