The Omicron Delta Epsilon International Honor Society for Economics inducts new members for 2021

Omicron Delta Epsilon 2021The Omicron Delta Epsilon International Honor Society for Economics, Alpha Psi Chapter met both virtually and on campus to induct new members, celebrate scholarship in economics and honor outgoing faculty advisor, Professor John Golden on March 30, 2021.  

The incoming advisor, Professor Michael Michaelides was the Master of Ceremony for the annual event with welcoming remarks by Rachel Tobler ‘21, Center for Business & Economics Fellow. 

“One of the most interesting aspects of economics is the wide diversity in the interests and backgrounds of its members,” cited Golden.  “Many come to the field with a desire for a career in policy that can improve the way people live and work. The problems they tackle are many,” he added. “Our ODE chapter will be in excellent hands with Dr. Michaelides as faculty advisor,” he continued, “I welcome you all to Omicron Delta Epsilon and wish you success now and always.”

Congratulations to the new members for 2021:

Angel (Alyssa) Astaria Olivia Brophy Ian Craycroft
Ryan Dayton Matthew Del Rosso Morgan Douglas
Brett Heckert Emily Jones David Kraus
Grace Lengauer Christian Lussier Harley O’Brochta
Jack Parker Megan Powell Joseph Silvester
Nicholas Taliani Noah Tart Molly Tarvin
Dakchyata Thapa Thomas Uranga Victoria Vradenburg

Omicron Delta Epsilon, the International Economics Honor Society, is one of the world’s largest academic honor societies. The objectives of Omicron Delta Epsilon are recognition of scholastic attainment and the honoring of outstanding achievements in economics; the establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics within colleges and universities, and among colleges and universities; the publication of its official journal, The American Economist ; and sponsoring of panels at professional meetings as well as the Irving Fisher and Frank W. Taussig competitions.