Celebrating Scholarship in Economics

2022 Omicron Delta Epsilon lunch celebration
2022 Omicron Delta Epsilon lunch celebration

This spring, the Business and Economics Department welcomed the newest members of Omicron Delta Epsilon, the International Honor Society for Economics. Thirty-five students joined the Alpha Psi Chapter in 2022 at a luncheon ceremony in the Tippie Alumni Center.  Maya Ginter-Frankovitch ’22 welcomed the group to the gathering and Noah Tart ’22 kicked off the meeting sharing the wisdom and humor involved with the study  of economics. 

Students are invited to join the society each Spring if they meet the academic criteria set by the international organization. The minimum requirements for admission are completion of 12 credit hours of economics courses, attainment of a GPA of 3.0 or better in economics courses, and an overall GPA of at least 3.0.Certificates were then presented to these new members:

Hadi Al Khafaji Maxwell Hammond Hanah Simmons
Meredythe Baird Gretchen Kiefer Katherine Stancil
Jacob Boord Logan Koontz Shawn Stelling
Katherine Burgess Morgan Libell Rachel Stephany
Gary Chen Sarah Lipniskis Jacob Stotsky
Caitlin Comunale Jacob McGee Richard Swanson
Jacob Dukman Payton Mineweaser Vicki Ta
Karen Duverglas Nicholas Murawski Kaylin Tang
Raymond Englert Sarah Pillittieri Andreas Vukas
Lydia Giannini Anna Poach Alexander Winklosky
Matthew Good Simone Robinson-Stevens Joel Zahradka 
Jordan Greynolds Mark Schmechel

Professor Nonnenmacher offered closing remarks reminding students that the study of economics will benefit them throughout their lives whether watching the news or in the ordinary problems of everyday life. Special thanks go to faculty advisor, Assistant Professor Michael Michaelides and Sarah Holt, Quigley Coordinator.

Omicron Delta Epsilon is one of the world’s largest academic honor societies. The objectives of Omicron Delta Epsilon are recognition of scholastic attainment and the honoring of outstanding achievements in economics; the establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics within colleges and universities, and among colleges and universities; the publication of its official journal, “The American Economist;” and sponsoring of panels at professional meetings as well as the ODE Graduate Research and Undergraduate Research Award competitions.