International Studies Steering Committee

Many Allegheny faculty teach courses in the multidisciplinary international studies program. Members of the committee represent the principal disciplines involved in the program, and they help students select a program of study. The members of the committee include:

Laura Reeck, Program Chair, Dept. of Modern & Classical Languages – French. Ph.D., New York University. Specializations in postcolonial literary categories; the banlieue cultural field; the harkis in literature; guerrilla film, the extreme contemporary.

Elisabeth Kalé Haywood, Dept. of History. B.A., University of Chicago; M.A., Ph. D., Stanford University. Specializations in Latin American history; colonial Mexico; ecclesiastical history; Sixteenth-Century conquests; Nineteenth and Twentieth Century dictatorships.

Shannan Mattiace, Chair, Dept. of Political Science. B.A., Central College; Ph.D., University of Texas Austin. Specializations in race and ethnicity in Latin America; nationalism; transnational social movements; pan-Indian political culture; immigration; political anthropology.

Stephen Onyeiwu, Chair, Dept. of Economics. B.S., University of Port Harcourt; M.S., University of Ife; M.A., Ph.D., University of Connecticut. Specializations in management of innovation and technology; managerial economics.

Barbara Riess, Chair, Dept. of Modern & Classical Languages. B.A., M.A., University of Connecticut; Ph.D., Arizona State University. Specializations in 20th-century Latin American culture; literature of the Cuban Revolution; Latin American women’s literature; translation studies; feminist and postmodern debates.