Network accounts are to be used only by the person or group to whom the account was issued. Network accounts provide the user access to privileged information and services, and passwords must be kept strictly confidential. Inappropriate sharing of account passwords may result in revocation of network account privileges. Attempting to access another person or groups’ account, including using, copying, modifying, or deleting anyone else’s files, is a violation of local policy and may also be a violation of state or federal law. All such attempts will be turned over to the appropriate College Officer for inquiry. In such cases, due process procedures as outlined in The Compass, Faculty Handbook, and the Personnel Policies Handbook for Staff Personnel will be used.
Types of Accounts
Student Accounts
Students are granted network accounts and access to many College services including email when they make a deposit indicating that they intend to matriculate at the College. Messages from College offices to students’ College email accounts are considered official College communications, and students are responsible for checking for such messages regularly.
Employee Accounts
All employees are granted network accounts and access to the College Services necessary for the performance of their work. Messages from College offices to employees’ College email accounts are considered official College communications, and employees are responsible for checking for such messages regularly.
Maintaining Accounts
To maintain access to their network account, users must change the account password at intervals no longer than twelve months or the account will be disabled. In the process of changing account passwords, users will be asked to confirm responsibility for other accounts (accounts for dependents, group accounts,, etc.) for which they are responsible. If users elect to decline responsibility for such associated accounts, those accounts will be deactivated. ITS will remind users when a password change is due.
Termination of Network Accounts
Employees
The network accounts of employees who leave the College or retire will be deactivated upon the separation of the employee from the College.
Graduating Students
The network accounts of students remain active until May 15th of the year following the student’s graduation year, at which point the accounts will be deactivated. No email forwarding will be provided beyond the date of deactivation.
Students who withdraw or are dismissed from the College
When students withdraw or are dismissed from the College, their network accounts are deactivated.
Purging of Files associated with Inactive Accounts
Files (directory files, backup files, materials in the learning management system, web pages) associated with accounts that have been inactive for more than six months will be removed from Allegheny’s network systems as part of ongoing maintenance.
To avoid unnecessary confusion, the College also reserves right to de-activate Google sites in the Allegheny Google Workspace instance that are not updated at least once annually, since such sites are often included in searches of Allegheny’s web site.