Allegheny College Wins Five Championships First Year Back In The Presidents’ Athletic Conference

On July 1, 2022, Allegheny College officially returned to the Presidents’ Athletic Conference (PAC) as a previous member from 1958 to 1984. Along with the return to the conference, a new athletics brand was introduced to uniforms, faculty designs, and social media. 

In the first year back in the PAC, five championships were awarded to Allegheny College Athletics, including: 

  • Women’s Track & Field, 2023 Outdoor Champions 
  • Women’s Track & Field, 2023 Indoor Champions 
  • Women’s Cross Country, 2022 Championship
  • Women’s Tennis, 2022 Championship 
  • Men’s Tennis, 2023 Championship 
Mihaela Toader ’23
Mihaela Toader ’23

Mihaela Toader ’23 was instrumental in securing both the women’s track & field indoor and outdoor championships, winning the 200- and 400-meter dash at both PAC Championships. 

As an exceptional athlete, Toader set three outdoor school records this spring in the 100-, 200-, and 400-meter dash. She also earned the following accolades:

  • All-Great Lakes Region awards for the 200m and 400m
  • Voted SAAC Female Athlete of the Year and Women’s Senior Achievement Award winner
  • Heading to the NCAA National Championships
Jacob Boord ’24
Jacob Boord ’24

Jacob Boord ’24 re-wrote the program record in the javelin throw for men’s track and field numerous times. Adding to this achievement he:  

  • Won his third consecutive conference championship in the javelin
  • Ranks sixth in the nation heading into the NCAA National Championships
  • Won All-Region honors, ranking No. 1 in the Great Lakes Region

Men’s and women’s tennis set a historic milestone, appearing for the first time in the NCAA Championships as a team. Additionally, the conference recognized six women and seven men on the tennis teams with All-PAC honors.

Ella Swan ’23
Ella Swan ’23

Outstanding tennis athletes of the season included: 

  • Ella Swan ’23, named Most Outstanding Player at the women’s championship and a national finalist for the ITA Ann Lebedeff Leadership Award
  • Anton Hedlund ’25, named Most Outstanding Player at the men’s championship and PAC Men’s Player of the Year
  • Ethan Carr ’26, the PAC Men’s Newcomer of the Year

Moreover, Dave Hayden, head coach of men’s and women’s tennis, was voted PAC Coach of the Year during the fall and spring seasons.

While the first year back in the Presidents’ Athletic Conference garnered tremendous success, there’s boundless dedication and perseverance to go around next season. View this year’s success in the Gator Athletics archive.