Full-Time Faculty

James C. Lombardi, Jr., A.B., Princeton University; M.S., Ph.D., Cornell University. Astrophysics; computational hydrodynamics.

Doros Petasis, B.S., Indiana University; Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University. Biophysics, EPR spectroscopy.

Adelé Poynor, B.S., University of Maryland at Baltimore County; M.S., Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Soft materials and surfaces.

David Statman, Chair, A.B., Lafayette College; Ph.D., State University of New York at Stony Brook. Non-linear optics, chemical physics.

Daniel Willey, A.B., Dartmouth College; M.A., Ph.D., Duke University. Microwave spectroscopy, low-temperature molecular-collision process.

Professor Emeritus

Shafiqur Rahman, B.S., Martin Luther University (Germany); M.S., Ph.D., Northwestern University. Theoretical solid-state physics, many particle physics, computer simulation of amorphous materials, Monte Carlo simulation.

Full-Time Staff

Robert Timlin, B.S., M.S. Carnegie Mellon University.

Lindy Jackson, Department Coordinator

Selected Faculty Publications/Achievements

  • “How Water Meets a Hydrophobic Surface,” published in Physical Review Letters.
  • “Stellar Collisions and Ultracompact X-Ray Binary Formation,” published in The Astrophysical Journal.
  • “Low Temperature Pressure Broadening of OCS by He,” published in The Journal of Chemical Physics.
  • “Photo-induced reorientation of nematic liquid crystals doped with azo-dye: A dynamic and steady-state study of reorientation and loss of liquid crystal order,” published in Physical Review E.
  • Fulbright Scholar
  • Collaborative work with a number of research institutions, such as Argonne National Laboratory, Carnegie Mellon University, Naval Research Laboratory, and Columbia Radiation Laboratory.
  • Recipient of $125,000 National Science Foundation Young Investigator grant—one of just 200 selected from a nationwide pool of 1,600 and one of just five from a liberal arts college.
  • Department faculty members are currently the recipients of research grants from organizations such as the National Science Foundation, Research Corporation, and the Petroleum Research Fund.