Honors & Prizes

The Department of History annually awards the Don M. Larrabee Prize and the Harold Huntley Haine Prize to the authors of outstanding senior thesis. The Haine Prize recognizes excellence in American history. The Larrabee Prize rewards the best senior thesis written in an academic year.

The recipient of the Outstanding Junior Major Prize is selected on the basis of History GPA and involvement in the History Program at Allegheny College.

Prize winners are announced at the annual Honors Convocation in the spring of each academic year.

Don M. Larrabee History Prize

For the best senior thesis in History:

2024 Cassandra Skweres
2023 Rebecca J. Winton
2022 Kevin C. Long
2021 Shae L. Harrison
2020  Robin K. Laurinec
2019  Alex J. Weidenhof
2018  Christopher E. Brindle
2017  Eric D. Brill and Laura F. Cooper
2016  Stephanie E. Engel
2015  Cecilia M. Bruni
2014  Bridget K. Hubbard
2014  Rachel M. Moore
2013  Brennan T. Hamilton
2012  Courtney E. Rice and Margaret A. Topel
2011  Katelyn M. Dornburg
2010  J.P. Hendrickson and Ashton S. Kinney
2009  Amy L. Negley
2008  Crystal L. Ptacek
2007  Matthew R. Kissling
2006  Thaddeus R. Rupp
2005  Jenna C. Nigro
2004  David J. DeVenney
2003  Melissa F. McCrimmon
2002  Andrew P. Desbrow
2001  Robert A. Bain II

Harold Huntley Haine Prize in History

To a senior history major who has demonstrated both academic promise and performance in the field of History:

2024 Colm I. Mulligan
2023 David H. Lawson
2022 Nicholas Ayres
2021 Kristian H. Snyder
2020  Brady R. Spaulding
2019  Dean R. Phillips
2018  Madeline L. Hernstrom-Hill
2017  Victoria A. VanVleet and Robinson F. Whitaker
2016  Maya E. Metzger
2015  Scott A. Keefer
2014  Sarah M. Lerch
2013  Abigail I. Kmiecinski
2012  Emily R. Benner and Forrest M. Smith
2011  Bryan D. Sciulli and Nicholas A. Zapadka
2010  Nicole E. Fuhrman
2009  Sean M. Jozwiak and James C. McHolme
2008  Kimberley A. Luperi
2007  Benjamin R. Mourer
2006  Matthew A. LeBold
2005  Christopher F. Caldwell and Sarah G. Johnston
2004  Rachel M. Brehm
2003  Ryan J. Durst and Nathan L. Robinson
2002  Barbara R. Eklund and Lauren S. Guehl
2001  Erin M. Black

Outstanding Junior Major Prize

Awarded for exceptional academic achievement, performance in the seminar, and contribution to the general life of the department:

2024 Elaina I. Ginsberg
2023 Simon M. Swanson
2022 Rebecca J. Winton
2021 Gabby V. Culotta
2020  Autumn C. Foreman and Maximus J. Levinsky
2019  Robin K. Laurinec and Henry D. Sutter
2018  Maria E. Graziano
2017  Madeline L. Hernstrom-Hill
2016  Laura F. Cooper
2015  Abigail L. Lombard
2014  Cecilia M. Bruni
2014  Jessica L. Gruber
2013  Abby W. Beerman
2012  Abigail I. Kmiecinski
2011  Elizabeth P. Keene
2010  Lindsey M. DiLoreto
2009  Nicole E. Fuhrman
2008  Amy L. Negley
2007  S. Curt Anderson
2006  Laura G. Johnson
2005  Christian B. Gass
2004  Sarah G. Johnston
2003  Jason A. Betts
2002  Stephanie N. Petrella