Single Voice Reading Series

Sponsored by the John C. Sturtevant Memorial Lectureship

The Single Voice Reading Series provides students with an opportunity to hear and meet nationally known writers. Readers have included John Updike, Carolyn Forché, Tobias Wolff, Jane Hirshfield, W.D. Snodgrass, Richard Blanco, Robert Olen Butler,  Henri Cole, Edward Hirsch, Afaa Michael Weaver, Tim O’Brien, and Mark Doty. Look at the archives for a more complete list.

The Single Voice Reading Series is organized by the Department of English at Allegheny College. For more information, contact Christopher Bakken, Professor of English.

Single Voice Reading Series 2019-2020

September 19th, 2019 7:00 PM Tillotson Room 

Jericho Parms is the author of Lost Wax (University of Georgia Press). Her essays have appeared in Fourth Genre, The Normal School, Hotel Amerika, American Literary Review, Brevity and elsewhere. Her work has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize, noted in Best American Essays, and anthologized in Brief Encounters: A Collection of Contemporary Nonfiction, and Waveform: Twenty-First-Century Essays By Women. She received an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts and she teaches in the Professional Writing program at Champlain College.

October 10th, 2019 7:00 PM Tillotson Room

Malcolm Hansen was born in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Adopted by two Civil Rights activists, he grew up in Morocco, Spain, Germany, and various parts of the United States. Malcolm left home as a teenager and, after two years of high school education, went to Stanford, earning a BA in philosophy. He worked in the software industry in California before setting off for what turned out to be a decade of traveling throughout Central America, South America, and Europe. Malcolm returned to the U.S. to complete an MFA in Fiction at Columbia University. His debut novel, They Come in All Colors, won the First Novel Award from the Black Caucus of the American Library Association and was nominated for a NAACP Image Award.

December 5th, 2019 7:00 PM Tillotson Room

Allegheny College alumnus, U.S. Army veteran, and former Wallace Stegner fellow, Graham Barnhart is the author of The War Makes Everyone Lonely.  He is a recipient of a Pushcart Prize and The Blackwell Prize, as well as fellowships from The Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, Sewanee Writers Conference, and Writing Workshops in Greece. He holds an MFA in poetry from The Ohio State University. His work has recently appeared in, or is forthcoming from 32 Poems, The Gettysburg Review, Gulf Coast, Pleiades, and elsewhere.   He is a Ph.D. candidate at The University of North Texas.

Taneum Bambrick is the author of Vantage, which was selected by Sharon Olds for the 2019 American Poetry Review/Honickman first book award (Copper Canyon Press).Her chapbook, Reservoir, was selected by Ocean Vuong for the 2017 Yemassee Chapbook Prize.  She is the winner of an Academy of American Poets University Prize, an Environmental Writing Fellowship from the Vermont Studio Arts Center, and the 2018 BOOTH Nonfiction Contest.  Her poems and essays appear or are forthcoming in The American Poetry Review, PEN America, Narrative, West Branch, The Missouri Review, 32 Poems, and elsewhere. She is a Stegner Fellow at Stanford University.

February 20, 2020 7:00 PM Tillotson Room

Eric Smith is the author of Black Hole Factory, which won the 2017 Tampa Review Prize for Poetry. His poems and essays have appeared in Indiana Review, The New Criterion, Southwest Review,  and the AWP Writers’ Chronicle. He is the recipient of a North Carolina Arts Council Artist Fellowship and currently lives in Sewanee, Tennessee, where he works as the managing editor for The Sewanee Review

April 2nd, 2020 7:00 PM Tillotson Room

Marcelo Hernandez Castillo is a poet, essayist, translator, and immigration advocate. He is the author of the collection Cenzontle (2018), which won the 2017 A. Poulin Jr. prize, and the chapbook Dulce(2018). His memoir, Children of the Land, is forthcoming from Harper Collins in 2020. His work has appeared or been featured in The New York Times, PBS Newshour, People Magazine en Español, The Paris Review, Gulf Coast, New England Review, and Indiana Review, among others. He currently teaches in the Low-Res MFA program at Ashland University.