Faculty Review Committee

Minutes not submitted to Merrick Archives

Committee Description

The function of the Faculty Review Committee is to make recommendations to the President in matters of tenure, promotion, and three-year appointments in accordance with the faculty appointment guidelines and promotion guidelines approved by the Faculty and the Board of Trustees.

The Committee’s specific responsibilities are:
  • To administer, through the Office of the Dean of the College, the process by which faculty are considered for tenure, three-year appointment, and promotion;
  • To consider evidence submitted by departments and other sources that bears on the qualifications of the faculty who have been nominated or are otherwise eligible for tenure, three-year appointment, and promotion;
  • To recommend to the President, through a formal vote of the elected members, appropriate action on each eligible candidate.

Details on the membership of the Committee can be found in the 2017-2018 Faculty Handbook, Standing Committees of the Faculty: Faculty Review, section 3.7.


Current Members

  • Brian Harward (2.5)  (Political Science), Fall 2018 Convener
  • Sarah Conklin (2.5) (Psychology, Neuroscience, Global Health Studies)
  • Rachel O’Brien (1.5) (Geology, Dance and Movement Studies)
  • Ron Mumme (1.5) (Biology)
  • Matthew Ferrence (.5) (English)
  • Emily Yochim (.5) (Communication Arts/Theater)

updated 9/7/2018