Public Policy and Management

Carnegie Mellon University’s H. John Heinz III School of Public Policy and Management offers an accelerated master’s program to qualified Allegheny College students. The program, structured as three years at Allegheny College followed by three to four semesters at the Heinz School (depending upon program), allows students to earn both a  bachelor’s and a master’s degree in less time than is normally required.

The following cooperative programs are available:      

  • Master of Arts Management (MAM)
  • Master of Entertainment Industry Management (MEIM)
  • Master of Information Systems Management (MISM)
  • Master of Science in Information Security Policy & Management (MSISPM)
  • Master of Science in Public Policy and Management (MSPPM)

Students pay tuition and fees to Allegheny College from their freshman through junior years. They pay tuition and fees to Carnegie Mellon for their graduate program, either three or four semesters beyond the completion of the junior year, depending upon program. Allegheny students also will be responsible for paying a maintenance fee to Allegheny while enrolled at Carnegie Mellon in their senior year.

Students will receive both the bachelor’s and master’s degrees upon completion of their graduate program at Carnegie Mellon. Allegheny College will count units taken during the master’s program toward the student’s bachelor’s degree according to its policies and procedures. The Heinz School will forward to Allegheny College transcripts and other necessary information on student academic performance.

Allegheny College students are eligible for scholarship support from Allegheny College for their freshman through junior years. They will be eligible for scholarship support from the Heinz School for the length of their graduate program and can apply to any and all Heinz School scholarship funds for which they are eligible (based on program and the individual scholarship fund’s specific requirements).

For additional information, please contact Professor Steven Onyeiwu or Professor Stephanie Martin.